UV glass

Finally, after months of procrastination, I reorganized my office and put pictures on the wall. I love staring at the mix of original art and prints, baby paintings and scherenschnitte, mixed with a clock face and button samples. My office is wonderfully sunny… which made me wish I could afford special UV glass for everything… which makes me wonder… If I can make sunscreen for my skin, why not for my pictures?

Zinc, which I use in sunscreen, of course won’t do. It’s opaque and white, that’s how it works. But there are chemicals which absorb the UV ray energy rather than diffuse it like zinc or titanium. For artwork my concern is only UVA rays (the longer ones), because most UVB rays are blocked by ordinary glass. Avobenzone, which absorbs UVA, is sold by cosmetic suppliers here — but it degrades with sunlight within a few hours! Completely useless for my purpose. What I’d really like to get my hands on is diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate… it’s not approved for use in sunscreens in the US, but it is in the EU, Japan and elsewhere. It’s made by BASF (they call it Uvinul A Plus — sounds so much better!) but I can’t find a supplier. I’m sure I could cook up some thin varnish-like UVA absorbing substance to paint on my glass if only I could find that chemical. Does anybody out there know where I could buy some diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate?

2 thoughts on “UV glass

    • That is a GREAT idea! Thanks so much for commenting. Despite my previous life in film production I didn’t know Rosco sold UV filters. Could definitely be a low budget solution, I’ll be trying it out.

Leave a Reply

