Salad Dressing

Whenever my back is turned my husband will go out and buy pre-washed salad in a bag and commercial dressing. He is not intentionally trying to irritate me, he just thinks it’s easier. Commercial salad dressing fills me with irrational rage. Nothing is easier to do than clean salad and stir up a vinaigrette. So much cheaper. So tasty and fresh… I usually mix dressing up by eye, but for the purpose of sharing I measured the quantities for my basic recipe:

  •  1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Red wine vinegar
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 clove crushed garlic (optional for some people, but not for me)
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1 tsp mayonnaise (optional)

Put all ingredients into a salad bowl, beat quickly with a fork, add the salad and toss. 

Alternately, prepare in a glass jar, put on the lid and shake vigorously. Pour directly on the individual portions on plates. The advantage of doing it this way is that leftovers (both salad and dressing) will keep. The disadvantage is more dishes and possible drips.

I tend to like my dressing sour, so you might prefer to had a little extra oil (or use less vinegar). There are so many possible variants… For rampion, (the lettuce craved by the pregnant mother in Rapunzel), a mix of lemon juice and walnut oil is particularly nice. just don’t buy ready-made dressing in the supermarket. Making your own is so easy!

Leave a Reply

