Cheap slime

I thought I had the perfect activity for a day off from school: have my kids help me experiment with a variety of slime recipes. Besides the classic glue goo I wanted to try out a guar gum recipe (I planned on comparing slime made with distilled or tap water) and the one, supposedly the most beautiful of all, based on CMC (carboxymethylcellulose). I should have known better. My boys never enjoyed playing with the wonderful texture of cornstarch and water, and they won’t touch paper maché either. To get my son to pose with this sparkly slime I had to bribe him (ice cream) and threaten (no video games).

So I only got to test one recipe, which is very cheap and easy — the amount pictured costs about 2 pennies* and takes a few seconds to make (not counting about 10 minutes of advance preparation) which makes it a perfect party activity for kids who aren’t “tactile challenged” like mine. Push it into an empty yogurt container and you will be able to produce very convincing fart sounds, too.

*calculation based on the amount of ingredients used… not the purchase price of the whole box

Ready? Here goes:

  • Dissolve 1/2 tsp borax into 1/2 cup warm water and set aside.
  • Disperse 1/2 tsp guar gum into 1 cup boiling hot water (sift it slowly onto the water while stirring, preferably with a milk frother to avoid creating lumps) and let it cool.
  • To make the goo, use 1/4 cup of the guar solution, stir in food coloring or sparkles if desired, then add between 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of the borax solution depending on the desired texture.
Leave a Reply

